TUTORIAL: FRUIT SALAD

Hey loves, todays tutorial was low-key inspired by Fruit Salad sweets! I wanted to do something pastel with a thick black liner. I wanted to use a pastel pink and pastel orange which reminded me of Fruit Salad sweets! I’m using a palette I’ve had for a while but never actually shown on the blog but I know I’ll be using it so much more now it’s summer! So I’ll jump right in with brows!

fruit salad.jpg

  • Makeup Revolution Brow pomade
  • Nars Soft matte complete concealer
  • Nyx Control Freak

DSCN5416.jpg

DSCN5418.jpg

So for eyes I’m using the Nyx Ultimate Brights palette. This palette costs £16 for 16 colours so it’s great value for money and all the shades are so pigmented and blendable it’s a great palette for beginners and professionals working with bright colours. I did this look pretty backwards to be honest I picked up the lavender shade (1) and blended this into my socket line on the inner half of my eye, I then mixed in the bright pink (2) closer to the middle of the socket and lower in the crease. I then picked up the bright yellow (3) and focused this on the outer half of the socket line and blended the pink and yellow together, honestly this yellow shade is so pigmented and blends itself it’s effortless. I wanted this eye makeup to look somewhat cloudy and unblended to look like splodges of colour. I then used the lighter yellow (4) to blow out the bright yellow and create a nicer blend between the yellow and my skin tone. I then took the Topshop Glow pot and highlighted my brow bone.

DSCN5421.jpg

I know I did this in such a weird order but I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do so then I took the orange (5) and placed this on the outer corner just to add a bit more depth, I can’t do an eye look without a darker outer v colour!

I decided to clean up the lid with the Nars concealer so did a half cut crease and set with a bright white powder.

DSCN5420.jpg

I then took Nyx Black Bean jumbo eye pencil and tightlined and then used the Nyx Epic Ink liner to create my thick wing and for the inner corner point used Kat Von D’s Tattoo liner.

Jumping onto face I’m moisturising then priming with the Kat Von D Lock it primer and Benefit Porefessional and then taking the Topshop glow pot again and patting this onto my cheekbones, nose, cupids bow and forehead.

For my base I’m using my trusty combination of Revlon Colourstay, The Body Shop lightening drops and Cover FX Custom Enhancer drops and bouncing this into skin with my Real Techniques sponge. I’m a concealer junkie I’m sorry so I’m using a more heavy duty concealer on my big breakouts and any other discolouration (Nars) a more liquidy concealer on active spots (Collection) a lightweight full coverage concealer under my eyes (Urban decay) and a more dewy highlighting concealer on the high points (MUFE).

I set my whole face with a mix of MAC Studio Fixes in NC10 and Shivering White. For contour and bronzer I took the usual Nyx Sculpt and Bobbi Brown bronzing powder. And I did my highlight first this time so I took Becca Moonstone which is quite a pale gold and then topped it with the Kat Von D Alchemist palette in the shade Opal (pink). I also put Opal over the Topshop glow pot on my brow bone and on my inner corner. For blush I mixed the peachy gold from the Nars Jubilation duo and my fave Clinique Peach pop!

DSCN5429.jpg

Back to the lower lash line I inverted the colour so I took the pink and lavender mix on the outer half of my lower lashes and the yellow and orange colour on the inner half. I wanted to mimic this in the waterline as well so used a bright pink lip liner (Nyx San Paulo) on the outer half and a peachy lip liner (MAC Boldly Bare) on the inner half. I then curled my lashes and applied a generous coat of the Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara!

DSCN5430.jpg

Onto the final step lips! I lined my lips with Boldly Bare and filled in with Kat Von D’s Ophelia liquid lipstick, and of course I had to add a gloss so chose my fave Nyx Butter Gloss in the shade Fortune Cookie. I spritzed my face with some MAC Fix Plus and that’s the Fruit Salad look complete!

I actually really like this look, it’s different a bit creative but super cute and pretty for summer. Honestly I can not recommend the Nyx Ultimate Brights palette enough, I’ll do some more looks with it very soon it’s honestly so damn good! It’s replaced the brighter matte shades in the Urban Decay Electric Palette as the formula is so much better! Good job NYX! Xo

10 Replies to “TUTORIAL: FRUIT SALAD”

Leave a Reply

