TUTORIAL: BIRTHDAY MAKEUP

Hey guys! Today I have my second instalment of my little birthday series. Today I’m going to be showing you the products I used on the day. I’m not going to be making a full tutorial, I’m just focusing on the eye makeup. So I’ll get straight into it!

BROWS:

DSCN5153.jpg

  • Zoeva Graphic Brows (pencil)
  • Nyx Eyebrow gel (Espresso)
  • Nars Soft Matte Complete concealer (Chantilly)
  • Nyx Control Freak

 

So for eyes I primed using my same concealer and I decided to go for a cut crease as I find these incredibly easy but they still look so glam! So the palette I’m using today is a present I got from Lewis, The Violet Voss Holy Grail palette, and I’ll be real with you it’s one of the best palettes I’ve ever used but I am going to do a full first impression on this palette with swatches at a later date!

DSCN5154.jpg

So I set my primer with my face powder and the first shade I went in with was Thanks a Latte, it’s quite cool toned compared to the rest of the palette but it’s only a tad darker than my actual skin tone so it’s a really natural base colour. My trick to a cut crease is apply eyeshadow like you usually would slowly building up colours and blowing out like a smokey eye,just avoid putting any colour on the lid or outer corner, and as long as you have a super full coverage concealer then you can create your cut crease from there.

Then I went in with a mix of Transition and Bestie to build up colour, I followed this with a bit of R U Kitten Me. To add more warmth I ran Hashtag over the top of all of this to bring out all the orange tones which compliments my blue eye colour. I then started to deepen closer to my actual crease with Brownie Points and I could have easily left it there to keep the look neutral but I was dying to dip into Wine N Dine so I ran this closer in the crease and mixed Brownie Points and Teddy Bear deep in the crease which gave the brown a more purple tone.

So after this I then used my Nars concealer to cut the crease and I then set with my face powder. For the brow bone and inner corner I used Crystal from the palette and it’s not that in your face it’s a subtle highlight for me.

DSCN5156.jpg

For my wing I used the Nyx Epic Ink eyeliner, which I’m currently loving. And then I moved onto my face makeup.

FACE:

  • Kat Von D Lock It primer
  • Benefit Porefessional
  • Revlon Colourstay
  • The Body Shop Lightening drops
  • Cover FX Custom Enhancer drops (Halo)
  • Nars Soft Matte Complete concealer (Chantilly)
  • Collection Lasting Perfection concealer (1)
  • Urban Decay Weightless skin concealer (Fair Neutral)
  • MUFE Ultra HD concealer (Y21)

POWDERS:

  • MAC Studio Fix (NC10)
  • MAC Shivering White
  • Nars Soft Velvet Loose Powder (Snow)
  • Nyx Sculpt contour pan
  • Bobbi Brown bronzing powder (Golden Light)
  • Hourglass Ambient Lighting blush (Mood Exposure)
  • Becca Shimmering Skin Perfecter (Moonstone)
  • MAC Eyeshadow (Nylon)

 

Going back to my eyes, I lined my lower lash line with Rimmel Scandaleyes Black kohl pencil. I used Hashtag from the Violet Voss palette across my lower lash line, and focused a mix of Wine N Dine and Teddy Bear on the outer corner of my lower lash line. For a bit of shimmer I took Cranberry splash and ran this lightly on the inner half of my lower lash line and topped the tearduct area with So Jelly which is a pink/orange duochrome shadow.

DSCN5163.jpg

I then used the Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara on top and bottom lashes. I was going to apply falsies but I was a bit pushed for time and I didn’t want to ruin my makeup by rushing so I didn’t bother but If I had worn lashes I had planned to use Eyelure x Fleur De Force Fleur Loves lashes. I topped my inner corner highlight with Nylon eyeshadow from MAC to make it a little brighter.

DSCN5164.jpg

The final step is lips so I was either going to wear a nude or a brighter colour and I asked Lewis for an opinion and he chose the bright red so I used Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid lipstick in Santa Sangre which is a bright red with a slight pink undertone. But I did have to line my lips with MAC’s Redd lip liner.

I spritzed my face with a bit of MAC Fix Plus and I was good to go!

20170709_180316.jpg

I didn’t really take any photos of my makeup on the night but here have some pictures of me and Lewis which do show the basis of my makeup. I will be doing more tutorials with the Violet Voss palette very soon so I can show more clearly how the palette works for me!

I hope you enjoy this finished look and honestly a warm cut crease is so easy to do and so convenient to do on a daily basis and great to glam up with a bit of shimmer/glitter for a night out. xo

Leave a Reply

