FIRST IMPRESSION: KAT VON D EVERLASTING LIQUID LIPSTICKS

Hey loves! Since my trip to Berlin I’ve had a lot of new inspiration and a lot of new beauty related posts and segments coming your way. But before I went to Berlin Kat Von D opened a new counter in the Debenhams in Manchester and I was straight in there looking at the Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks. The Manchester counter doesn’t hold all the liquid lipstick shades but does have a fair few to choose from. On my first trip I picked up Double Dare (bright terracotta) and Lovesick (cool-toned pink). I wanted to grab shades I don’t already have in my collection. On my second trip I picked up a couple of other items and Lolita (intriguing brown) liquid lipstick and on my third trip I bought Ophelia (peach nude) and Witches (pitch black).

The run down of the Everlasting Liquid lipsticks:

  • Glides on like a gloss
  • True matte finish
  • 24 hour wear
  • High pigment colour
  • Packed with natural moisturisers
  • Comfortable

These are the points I’ve drawn from Kat Von D’s website and I’ll get onto my opinions on them later. But for now the Liquid lipsticks contain 6.6ml of product a whole 1.2ml more than the Jeffree Star Cosmetics liquid lipsticks and only cost £1 more. In the UK Kat Von D Everlasting liquid lipsticks retail for £17.

PACKAGING

DSCN4802.jpg

DSCN4669.jpg

The liquid lipstick comes in the usual black packaging with rose detailing. I love Kat Von D’s floral gothic designs, it even appeals to non makeup lovers. Admittedly the box is quite big for such a thin liquid lipstick but as a collectors item the packaging is well worth keeping! The box itself is made out of a very thin card so take care if you’re wanting to keep it for a long time.

DSCN4804.jpg

On the bottom of the liquid lipstick is a sticker with the name and shade colouring, on one of my boxes somehow the name was printed the wrong way but it’ll never bother me.

THE TUBE

DSCN4837.jpg

I have no liquid lipsticks that are in such elegant packaging, the thin tube really appeals to me as it’s easier to travel with and can fit more in a makeup bag and plus it’ll last longer with the amount of product. The tube is clear so you can see the product but the black roses are printed on the tube and inverted to a grey colour on the cap. I think the tube is fantastic, I love the design I love everything about it, everything is so intricately illustrated and I would expect nothing less from Kat Von D.

THE APPLICATOR

DSCN4694.jpg

The applicator is always a big thing for me. I was so pleasantly surprised when I opened a tester for the first time to find a very similar applicator to my overall favourite the Barry M lip kit lip paint. The small and compact doe foot wand is perfect for precise lines and controlled application. The perfect amount of product comes out on the wand and not a lot gets stuck to the actual plastic wand either. It’s a 10 out of 10 on the packaging front!

 

 

SWATCHES

Onto the interesting bit, I have swatches and close up shots of each liquid lipstick and I have dupes within my collection and lip liners I find to match the liquid lipsticks best if you can’t get hands on the Everlasting lip liners.

OPHELIA

Ophelia is a peachy nude, quite warm in tone, it’s a very spring/summery colour and I honestly love the colour! It’s the one I’ve got the most wear out of so far.

unnamed-1

The dupes I have for Ophelia are:

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick – Mannequin
  • Too Faced Melted – Melted Nude
  • MAC – Kinda Sexy (matte)

DSCN5081.jpg

DSCN4823.jpg

 

DOUBLE DARE

Double Dare looks like a warm terracotta colour but when applied to the lips it is so bright and intense and comes out more red, and honestly this one is my ultimate fave for formula and colour!

DSCN4656.jpg

So my dupes for this colour aren’t exact because I don’t have anything near as bright as this one but in terms of tone I have:

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick – Gemini
  • Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution lipstick – Walk of shame
  • Smashbox Cosmetics – Top Shelf

DSCN4710.jpg

DSCN4713.jpg

 

LOLITA

Lolita is Kat’s most iconic colour and you know I’m not all that fussed about it. It’s an intriguing colour because it some lights it looks red, some brown and some purple buttt the formula of this one is absolutely shocking, it’s so streaky and patchy. I could have got an off one but I’m really unimpressed this one also bleeds a crazy amount even with a lip liner it sticks out like a sore thumb and not in a good way.

unnamed-4

So for Lolita I don’t have any exact dupes but I prefer the colours I owned previously anyway so I have:

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick – Gemini
  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick – Androgyny
  • MAC – Whirl (matte)

DSCN5084.jpg

DSCN5085.jpg

 

LOVESICK

Lovesick is a cool toned bright pink, a colour I would never usually buy but I wanted more colours suitable for summer and thought this would be perfect and the formulation with this one is the exact same as Double Dare so I love it but because of me not being comfortable with this shade yet I’ve not worn it half as much as I’d hoped but I’ll get there eventually.

unnamed-3

Because of what I said earlier about not buying shades like this I obviously will not have an exact dupe but I do have a couple of similarities:

  • Anastasia Beverly Hills – Dusty Rose
  • Sleek Makeup – Shabby Chic (looks more pink in person)
  • Makeup Revolution – Grandee

DSCN4719.jpg

DSCN4716.jpg

 

WITCHES

Yes that’s right a pitch black liquid lipstick! I thought it was about time I tried to step out of my comfort zone and I’ll be honest I’ve not worn it outside yet as it has been so hot but it doesn’t look as scary as I once thought it would, I absolutely love the formula of this one, it’s no more drying than the others and so comfortable!

unnamed-5.jpg

I have no dupes at all for this one because it is my first black lipstick but one bit of advice I will give to you is in terms of lip liner DO NOT use a black eyeliner, eyeliners are made to smudge and look messy you don’t want messy black lips it’s so not cute! If I was to use a lip liner like I did in the swatch above I would use a dark purple or really dark brown, I used MAC – Cyber.

 

 

As an added extra in this post I wanted to include lip liners that I own that I think match really well. No matter how easy people think liquid lipsticks are to apply I still need a lip liner. So the matches I have for Ophelia and Lolita are:

  • MAC – Boldly Bare (perfect match)
  • MAC  – Nothing Sexier (light nude option)
  • MAC – Whirl

For Double Dare:

  • Rimmel 1000 kisses – Spice

And finally for Lovesick:

  • NARS Velvet Matte lip pencil – Sex Machine
  • Makeup Revolution – Grandee

 

I don’t have any black lip liners, I do think Kat has brought out a black in her Everlasting lip liner line but these haven’t arrived in the UK stores yet so I’ll have to deal with another lip liner for now.

 

 

FORMULATION AND THOUGHTS

After swatching, comparing and wearing all of these liquid lipsticks I have come up with my final thoughts and opinions based on the claims at the start of the post so here’s a reminder:

  • Glides on like a gloss
  • True matte finish
  • 24 hour wear
  • High pigment colour
  • Packed with natural moisturisers
  • Comfortable

Do I agree?

Answer: Somewhat.

I do agree that they glide on like a gloss, the liquid lipstick is smooth and thin to apply so it doesn’t feel tacky or lumpy to apply, and I definitely agree they have a true matte finish, they dry within 30 seconds and definitely aren’t the easiest to apply on top of. Speaking of reapplication I don’t agree with 24hr wear. I wore Lovesick for a total of 5 1/2 hours and I have an image of what it looked like after talking a bit of eating (no oily foods) and drinking juice through a straw.

DSCN4620.jpg

So you can see how the colour has faded and isn’t as bright as when it’s first applied. It had started to build up around the edges of my mouth and crumble in the centre. I’ll be honest it could have looked a lot worse especially if I hadn’t exfoliated my lips before putting this one on. So this is after 5 1/2 hours the colour would be non-existent after 24 hour so that claim can not be true!

Most of the liquid lipsticks have high pigment colour, I think Ophelia and Lolita are streaky. I always have to put a lip liner under Ophelia and Lolita I explained above how I think I got a crappy one because I’m so disappointed with it. However Double Dare, Lovesick and Witches are pigmented straight away and I was so impressed with the black it’s not streaky at all!

Packed with natural moisturisers? If it is I can’t feel them doing anything. The lipsticks are still very dry as are all liquid to matte lipsticks, there is no tackiness when you push your lips together but they definitely don’t do anything good for my lips underneath. and comfortable? Again somewhat it depends on the colour and formulation, it’s annoying that brands can’t have a consistent formula amongst the same product, I know pigments change change formulation but if a black can be perfect so can a nude (the most common colour) I find Lovesick, Double Dare, Ophelia and Witches very comfortable but once they start to crumble it can feel a tad odd on the lips but Lolita never seems to dry properly it still feels sticky, I don’t trust it to stay put and last so this one definitely isn’t that comfortable.

 

 

FINAL THOUGHTS

I agree with most of the claims on Kat’s site but I’ve still not found the perfect liquid lipstick, it’s very close if Lolita wasn’t such a let down. I have been wearing Ophelia very often at the moment because it’s easy to apply because of the applicator and has a nice liquidy formulation, great to play around with, it doesn’t require a lot of care and effort to apply. So I do love the Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks and I will buy more simply because 4 out of 5 ain’t bad. I’ve got my eye on the shade Bachlorette (a raspberry). I want Kat to extend her range further to include more wearable purple shades and more pale pink nudes and I would definitely buy them. I think for the price they are very reasonable you get more product than most and the packaging is sleek and smart and easy to travel with.

DSCN4832.jpg

So I would recommend these liquid lipsticks to you, comfort is an area for discussion because some people can tolerate matte formulas more than others but as a general product they are really good, vegan and cruelty free and now very easy to get your hands on in the UK!

 

Do let me know if any of you have tried these liquid lipsticks would love to know your thoughts! Thank you all for reading and sticking with me whilst I’ve had my time off, see you soon guys! xo

5 Replies to “FIRST IMPRESSION: KAT VON D EVERLASTING LIQUID LIPSTICKS”

Leave a Reply

