TUTORIAL: PURPLE SMOKES

Hey everyone!

I finally submitted all of my university coursework after a very tense and packed couple of weeks but I managed it all and hopefully fingers crossed I’ll get some good results! But now I’m all yours for the summer and I’ve got so much planned for this blog so I hope you’ll stick around!

I’m going to get back into the swing of things with one of my usual tutorials, and today is a 4 eyeshadow look to create a perfect soft cool toned smokey eye. This one is for those of you who like to use purple!

Starting off with the usual brow products to fill in my nasty eyebrows and setting with a clear brow gel.

DSCN4208.jpg

Priming my eyes with the same concealer and setting with my face powder. First of all you’ll need a cool toned mauve colour to use in the crease, this will act as a transition colour, here I’m using Makeup Geek Petal Pusher. Next you’ll want to build up a bit of a brighter colour, here you could go for a bright purple or pink, I’m taking Love Letter from the ABH Modern Renaissance palette, this colour needs to be placed deeper into the crease and only slightly blended upwards. For this part of the eye the last shade is a deep cool toned purple so I’m using Makeup Geek Motown and focusing this on the outer corner and outer third of my crease.

Usually I would put concealer over my eyelid to clean it up but to keep the look soft I’m just using my face powder again and patting onto my lid.

DSCN4214.jpg

For eyeliner I’m using Nyx tres jolie gel pencil in my tight-line and L’Oreal Perfect slim for my wing.

Moving onto the face I’m first priming with Benefit Porefessional and Cover FX Highlighting drops in Halo and then covering my face with a light layer of Revlon Colourstay. For concealer I’m using Collection Lasting Perfection on any spots and redness and MAKE UP FOR EVER Ultra HD concealer in Y21 under my eyes and to highlight my forehead and nose.

For my face powder I’m taking a mix of MAC Studio Fix and Laura Mercier Smooth Finish foundation powder on a damp sponge and patting that into my face. Once I’ve finished this first layer I grab MAC Fix Plus and spritz my face and then fan my face with my hands so there is no wet residue. I saw this in one of Nikkie Tutorials’ recent videos and I thought it was a gimmick to begin with but it actually works really well.

DSCN4221.jpg

After this has dried I then contour and bronze using the ABH contour kit and Bobbi Brown Golden Light bronzer. For blush I’m using a plum colour to compliment the cooler eyes, so the closest I have in my collection is MAC Desert Rose. I’m then locking this in again with Fix Plus.

For highlight I’m using Jeffree Star Cosmetics Princess cut.

Back onto the eyes I’m finishing off the lower lash line with Nyx Black Bean jumbo eye pencil and smoking that out with a mixture of Motown and a black shadow, Black Moon from Coloured Raine. Then I’m coating my lashes with my fave Maybelline Lash Sensational.

For the inner corner I added some glitter so I’m using the Helen E Cosmetics glitter adhesive with their glitter pigment in White disco.

DSCN4230.jpg

All that’s left now is lips and I have two options for you today. Firstly lining with MAC Whirl lip pencil and then going on top with Jeffree Star Cosmetics Sagittarius, which I realised was limited edition last Christmas so my other option from his line was his metallic liquid lipstick in No Tea No Shade.

DSCN4233.jpg

I hope you all enjoyed this makeup look, I definitely enjoyed wearing it and if you hadn’t already noticed this is the exact makeup I wore in my Casual Saturday OOTD last week!

See you soon guys! XO

12 Replies to “TUTORIAL: PURPLE SMOKES”

Leave a Reply

