FIRST IMPRESSION: PURE INSTANT RADIANCE ENGLISH ROSE CLEANSING BALM

Hey everyone I’m bringing you a post regarding skincare for a change on this relaxing Saturday. I’m not very clued up on skincare which is why I prefer to post makeup tutorials but today I thought we’ll push my boundaries and I’ll test out a bit of skincare I’ve been trying.

So a bit of background to my regime and skin type. I have normal to dehydrated skin, I can have an oily nose but can also gain dry patches at the sides of my nose and under my eyes so I find it very hard to find skincare that doesn’t irritate my skin. Currently I have been using The Body Shop Camomile Cleansing butter to get rid of my makeup and then taking the left over off with the Garnier Micellar water. I then cleanse again with the Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish and then moisturise with the Garnier Rose Water day cream and then spot treat with the Superdrug Tea Tree spot gel. This regime has improved the hydration levels in my skin and has left it feeling softer, but I still have quite a lot of texture and am looking for an exfoliator to gently take away the texture and as a teen of course I’m looking for something to get rid of all my disgusting blackheads.

My mum went out and bought a new cleanser in the shape of the Marks & Spencer Pure Natural Beauty-Instant Radiance English Rose Cleansing Balm (that was a mouthful). But she hasn’t had much use out of it so I thought I’d give it a go. The tub contains 85g of product and costs £12 and in the box you get a muslin cloth to use alongside.

DSCN3894.jpg

The cleanser comes in a frosty plastic tub with a matte taupe grey screw off lid. The name, ingredients and instructions are printed on the outside of the tub in the same taupe writing. M&S claim that the balm will loosen dead skin cells and leave a radiant appearance to the skin but I’ll get onto my opinions later.

The balm isn’t what I would consider a balm it’s very sticky, and thick, more like a very tacky moisturiser. The balm is yellow in colour but clear on the skin and is a very smooth consistency. Compared to other cleansers I have used it is less oily and I’m still shocked by the stickiness it almost feels like honey or syrup.

DSCN3897.jpg

Since this product is part of the English Rose range I presumed it would smell like roses but I smell something a lot sweeter and sugary. If anyone has tried the Temple Spa Body Scrub it smells very similar to that, fresh and sweet.

The instructions for use goes as follows:

  • Gently smooth over face, neck and décolletage massaging into the skin using your fingertips in circular motions.
  • Rinse the muslin cloth with warm water and wring out the excess and lightly polish off the cleanser in circular motions.

Seems very simple so I did just this, the circular motions are supposed to stimulate the skin and loosen any dead skin cells, so in theory this should act as a very calm exfoliator which is exactly what I was looking for in the first place.

I used the balm on dry skin to begin with and massaged in the motion it suggests left it for a couple of minutes whilst I rinsed the muslin cloth then gently removed the excess balm. After I patted my face dry with a flannel my skin felt very smooth and I saw a slight glow on my cheeks which I don’t usually have since I am quite dehydrated. My spots on my chin usually create dry patches of skin but these had disappeared after I removed the balm. The textured skin on my forehead seemed to have minimised but not on my cheeks or nose, and I feel like it brought a lot of dirt underneath my skin to the surface as I have more spots on my chin now.

DSCN3905.jpg

So my final thoughts on the Instant Radiance Cleansing Balm, I’m going to carry on using this balm to see if it makes any long term changes to the texture of my skin and I will keep on using it to give my skin that soft feel. However I feel that I need to find another item to help my spots and blackheads so if any of you have any suggestions for any products I could use please don’t hesitate to leave them in the comments below. Do I think this balm is worth trying, yes I do it’s relatively inexpensive and could last easily over a month but if you’re oily I would use this sparingly as it is so sticky it could add a lot more moisture to your face possibly making you look greasy but obviously since I’m on the dry side I wouldn’t take my word for it. Be sure to click the link at the top of this post and read the claims and make the plunge if this product seems like it would be right up your street.

Thank you for reading through my waffle on skincare (which I clearly don’t know a lot about) and do let me know if you’ve tried this product or something similar before and your experiences with it below. I hope you enjoyed and I’ll be back again soon.

 

Leave a Reply

