TUTORIAL: CUSTOM GLITTER AND BRUSHES TALK THROUGH

I’m back with another tutorial, recently I’ve had quite a few different looks floating through my head and usually when I incorporate glitter into my looks I never use eyeliner as it never shows up and looks really crusty but I’ve now found an eyeliner that I can work with really well. I also never really include the tools I use within my tutorials so I’m going to talk through my brushes and why I choose them over any others.

So onto my tutorial I’m firstly outlining my brows with the Nyx Micro Brow pencil and then fill in with Nyx Tame & Frame and the Nyx Dual Brow brush, I personally find that this brush is the best I’ve tried as it is a thin but densely packed brush and has a slight angle which helps to shape the arch of my brow. I then clean up with Nars Soft Matte Complete concealer in Chantilly and the Sigma Flat Definer, I’ve tried using smaller more detailed brushes and they just take up a lot of time to use and get the shape right whereas this brush is very easy and quick to get a sharp shape. I then set into place using Nyx Control Freak clear brow gel.

DSCN3780.jpg

DSCN3782

 

Onto the eyes I’m using the Naked Smoky palette to create a soft but neutral transition. After priming with the same concealer I’m taking a large fluffy brush (w7) and the shade Thirteen to set all over my eye, this brush is large and soft which helps to give a light dusting of shadow all over the lid. Next I’m taking Combust on a Zoeva Luxe Soft Crease brush. I have a couple of the same brushes in my collection as it’s so brilliant at picking up the right amount of product and diffusing out colours. I blended this loosely into the crease.

DSCN3783

 

Next I took a second Zoeva Luxe Soft Crease brush and mixed the shades Raw Sienna and Realgar to create a deep orange shade and focused this into the crease and then took the first Zoeva brush and blended the edges. Lastly before glitter I took the Real Techniques Bold Metals 203 brush and mixed Love Letter and Cyprus Umber, this brush is a lot smaller and more compact meaning it’s great blending darker colours into the outer corners and focusing colour in the crease.

Moving onto the somewhat messy part customising a glitter shade, I took the Nyx Face and Body glitters in Gunmetal, Gold and Teal and a very cheap glitter shaker from Stargazer.

 

unnamed
The Glitter mixture

After creating the mixture I dabbed a layer of the Nyx Glitter primer on my eye with the Nyx Pro Flat Detail brush as this is a synthetic flat packer brush I find these works best with liquids and creams, I also pack on the glitter with this as it gives the best coverage.

DSCN3786.jpg

Onto eyeliner to create the wing shape I’m using the L’Oreal Super Liner Perfect Slim but then for the rest of the wing and to fill in over the glitter I’m using the Rimmel Exaggerate liquid liner.

 

Moving on to face I’m priming with MAC Strobe Cream and Benefit Porefessional and then using a Real Techniques sponge to pat in the Make Up For Ever Ultra HD foundation and Ultra HD concealer as well as the Collection Lasting Perfection concealer.

 

 

For powder I’m using my usual mix of MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Light and MAC Studio Fix and the best way I find to apply this is in two ways. I use a damp sponge and swirl this in both powders to create my custom mixture and then I pat this under my eyes, down my nose, on my smile lines, chin, centre of the forehead and across the majority of my cheeks as this is where I have the most uneven texture and using a brush shows this up more. For the outer perimeter of my face I prefer to have more full coverage and be completely matte so I use a flat top brush any will do but the one I have is a very cheap one from Amazon.

DSCN3790

DSCN3791

 

I’m not stepping away from my usual contour and bronzing products this time and using Anastasia Beverly Hills Fawn and the Zoeva Cream Cheek brush, this brush is very soft and has a medium density so even though it would be perfect creams I love it for powder contour and it is the best shape for the cheekbones. For bronzer I’m using my staple Bobbi Brown Golden Light with the Real Techniques Blush brush, I prefer to use a more tapered brush for my bronzer as I am pale I don’t want to distribute too much product all over my face and this brush is perfect for doing just that.

DSCN3792

For blush and highlight I’m using the No7 blush brush and Clinique Peach Pop. I swap between this brush and the Nyx Pro Dual Fibre Powder brush both end up giving the same blended appearance. My favourite brush for highlighting is the Real Techniques setting brush as it is small, dense and compact so packs a punch of pigment, I used Jeffree Star Princess cut in this look.

DSCN3793

Jumping back to my lower lash line I mixed Love Letter, Realgar and Cyprus Umber on the Urban Decay Electric palette brush. This is a dual ended brush with a small detail brush at one end and a smudger brush on the other I love using the smudging end for under my lower lash line as it fits perfectly.

DSCN3794

 

I’m also lining my waterline with Rimmel Scandaleyes kohl pencil and to smudge this between my lower lashes I have the Morphe B11 angle liner brush as this again fits perfectly under my lashes and is dense enough to not remove much project but still blend. Next I curled my lashes and coated them in Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir mascara.

DSCN3795

 

To finish this look off I offer two lip options my new Jeffree Star Cosmetics liquid lipsticks. Firstly I lined my lips with Nyx lip liner in Natural and then topped with I’m Nude first and Androgyny second.

 

That’s all for this tutorial, the warm tones are so wearable for any skin tone and the glitter just adds a bit more glam to an everyday look, the different coloured reflects add a touch of sparkle and colour to such a neutral look. I hope at least one of you got some inspiration from this if there are any products you think I should try out then please leave them in a comment below!

Leave a Reply

