TUTORIAL: DEEP PURPLE HALO EYE

Hi everyone I’m back with another tutorial. I think you all know by now that I love my purple shadows and today is no different. I did this makeup look a while ago when I first got my Morphe 35P palette so that will be the main focus of the eye look today.

So let’s get started I filled in my brows the usual way using the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow wiz and Nyx Tame and Frame brow pomade, carving out with MAC Studio Finish concealer and setting into place with Nyx Control Freak brow gel. I primed my eyes with the same concealer and set with a matte cream coloured powder.

DSCN3818.jpg

For the eyes the theme is to build from light to dark purples as gradually as possible. I find purples can be chalky and hard to blend so building up the different shades and intensities really helps to get a seamless blend. I’ll have the shades numbered in order in the image below and because this look is quite blown out the same blending method was used each time taking the colour into the crease and diffusing upwards and outwards keeping the intense pigment towards the inner and outer corner of the eye and building up the darkness in these areas and blending lightly in the crease in between.

DSCN3819.jpg

After all that blending the centre of the lid is hard to see so I took a bit of the same concealer I’ve been using and blocked out the centre of the lid and for that irredescent/duochrome shine I used the Kat Von D Alchemist palette and the shades Saphyre and Amethyst to give a blue/lilac bright centre. I tightlined my eyes with the Nyx Tres Jolie eye pencil and then created my thick wings with the L’oreal Superliner Perfect Slim.

Moving onto my face I primed with MAC Strobe Cream and Benefit Porefessional and moved onto foundation, I used Revlon Colourstay and a damp Real Techniques sponge. For concealer I used Urban Decay Weightless concealer under my eyes and to highlight, and then Collection lasting perfection concealer on any blemishes. Next step is to powder so I’m taking a mix MAC Mineralize skinfinish natural in Light and MAC Studio fix powder under my eyes with a damp sponge so that the powder melts into my under eyes and won’t cling to any texture, and using the same mix on my t-zone and then taking a flat top brush with the same mix of powders all over the rest of my face.

For contour I’m using the Anastasia Beverly Hills contour kit and the shade fawn and then bronzing with my favourite Bobbi Brown Golden Light. For blush I’m using MAC Desert Rose on a duo fibre brush.

DSCN3830.jpg

For highlight I took Jeffree Star Cosmetics Ice Cold and the same Amethyst colour from the Alchemist palette on top to create the purple duochrome.

DSCN3833.jpg

Jumping back to the eyes I avoided keeping the halo appearance for the lower lash line as with certain colours it doesn’t look right on my eyes so I kept to dark purples blended along the lower lash line. I then smudged Rimmel Scandaleyes kohl pencil in my water line and in between my lashes and blended with the purple with a tiny amount of black shadow.

DSCN3834.jpg

For lashes I curled them and applied the Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir mascara on top and bottom lashes and then highlighted my brow bone and inner corner with Amethyst again from the Alchemist palette.

DSCN3835.jpg

For lips I’m using a new brand of liquid lipstick, Anastasia Beverly Hills. I never got my hands on any ABH lip products because they cost a bomb to get to the UK but when my mum went to New York along with the Alchemist palette she brought me back 3 Sephora cream lip stains and ABH Dusty Rose. I love the moussey formula and how opaque it is but it is very drying so a hefty layer of lip balm is surely needed.

20170416_170400

20170312_225513

That’s all for this post and this rather dramatic makeup look. I do hope you all enjoyed reading and I’ll be back soon.

4 Replies to “TUTORIAL: DEEP PURPLE HALO EYE”

Leave a Reply

