TUTORIAL: GO TO MAKEUP LOOK APRIL 2017

Hey everyone! This is the side post following my day out in Blackpool. Some of the photos I uploaded in that post featured my new every day makeup look which involves a warm cut crease, peachy cheeks and a nude lip. I’ve been using quite a few new products since my last tutorial so I will include a couple of little first impressions too! So I’ll stop rambling and jump straight in.

unnamed-5

Filling in the brows the usual way combining a pencil and pomade. I draw the outline and feather the front with NYX Micro brow pencil and then fill in the tail and main body of the brow with NYX Tame and Frame, both in the shade brunette. I carve out my eyebrows using the Nars Soft Matte Complete Concealer which is a new addition to my routine. This concealer is very high coverage and the lightest shade Chantilly gives a very natural highlight to my skin making it perfect for the brows. I like using this concealer on the face but I prefer a liquid concealer rather than a cream on my face because it can feel quite heavy. I then set my brows using NYX Control Freak clear brow gel.

For the eyes I prime using the same Nars concealer and set crease to brow bone with any ivory coloured powder. For this cut crease I focus all my shadow placement and blending above my natural crease socket line.

unnamed-9

For the first shadows I’m taking the NYX Ultimate brights palette and a big fluffy brush and mixing together the two starred yellow shades to create a very warm and yellow crease colour. This step can be very messy and can be loosely winged out. I then took a more defined crease brush and the top orange shade and focused this more towards the socket line to add depth.

unnamed-10

After placing this colour the transition between dark orange and bright yellow was too much so dipped into the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette and mixed Burnt Orange and Realgar and blended this between the two NYX colours, this created a much softer gradient. From here you could easily just intensify the darker orange colour closer to where you want to cut the crease but I wanted a deeper colour so took a pencil brush and Cyprus Umber and focused this at the crease line and winged outwards. To get a good blend keep swapping back and forth between colours to get the gradient you desire.

To cut the crease I’m taking a Sigma Flat Definer brush and the same Nars concealer and cutting the lid just slightly above my crease to avoid the concealer transferring when I blink. Before creating a cut crease you need to realise what shape works for your eyelid and since I have a lot of skin on my brow bone my eyes become very hooded so a cut crease was quite difficult for me to do at first but when I use the concealer and slightly curve my wing to suit my eye that naturally curves. Once I’ve got the shape I desire on one eye, to stop transfer I set the concealer with my face powder and then replicate on the other eye. Once this is done if any intensity was lost with the brown or dark orange now is the time to go back in with that pencil brush to create a more precise crease line.

unnamed-3

From here drawing on eyeliner wings is so easy, keep quite thin towards the inner corner and the wing shape should follow the exact line of the crease you cut earlier, for my wings I’m using the L’Oreal Super Liner Perfect Slim and then lining my tightline with NYX Tres Jolie eyeliner.

unnamed-4

Moving onto face I’m moisturising then applying a concoction of primers using MAC Strobe Cream in Peachlite on the high points of my face, MAC Prep+Prime Natural Radiance in Radiant Pink on the rest of my face, I’m currently using a sample I got given and it does feel nice but I don’t think it really does anything for my skin in terms of keeping oils at bay or evening out skin tone, and on my cheeks and forehead a bit of the Benefit Porefessional.

unnamed-7

I’m using a new foundation finally! I’m trying out the MAKE UP FOR EVER Ultra HD fluid foundation in Y205-Alabaster. I do quite like it, it’s medium coverage but does feel really lightweight on the skin and is a foundation pale enough for me without having to use shade adjusters. I’m also using a new concealer, the MAKE UP FOR EVER Ultra HD concealer in Y21 which is basically white, it’s so light and brightening. It’s coverage is quite full but is very glowy which I’m not used to under my eyes, so I’m adjusting to this concealer slowly but surely. I will never get rid of my Collection Lasting Perfection to put on any dullness or spots.

unnamed

When I took photos for this makeup look I had seemed to misplace my MAC Mineralize Skin finish in Light so I had to use some other powders. I used a flat top brush and used MAC Studio Fix on the outer perimeters of my face and under my eyes and immediately layered NYX Bone Contour refill over the top to brighten. I then dusted MAKE UP FOR EVER Ultra HD loose powder all over my face. I’ve had this sample sized powder for ages and I know it makes my skin very flat and has a really strange smell but it makes my face so so smooth.

Onto contour I’m mixing Fawn from the Anastasia Beverly Hills contour kit and Lazarus from the Kat Von D Shade and Light eye palette.

For bronzer I’m sticking with my old faithful Bobbi Brown Golden Light and keeping to the warm toned look using Clinique Cheek Pop in Peach Pop for my blush.

For highlight I’m using an old favourite I used to showcase in my posts all the time, the Sleek Solstice highlighting palette and mixing all three powder shades to create an intense blinding highlight.

unnamed-13

To finish off the eyes I’m first going in with the orange colours I used in my crease and then smudging the Rimmel Scandaleyes kohl pencil into my waterline and between my lashes, and setting and blending with an angled brush and Shax from the Kat Von D palette.

I’m then curling my lashes and doing a few generous coats of the Marc Jacobs Velvet Noir mascara. Dipping back into the Sleek palette taking the orange powder shade and popping this on my brow bone and inner corner for a beautiful highlight to an all over matte eye look.

unnamed-1

Final step is lips and on two different days I used two lip colours. The first more wearable colour is Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour liquid lipstick in the shade Mannequin, and the second is the NYX Cosmic Metals lip cream in Speed of Light. This look is incredible versatile and could be paired with a brown, pink or even black lip.

So that’s the entire look complete even though a cut crease can be quite difficult to perfect once you get the hang of it, it’s one of the easiest looks to pull off on a day to day basis. I hope you enjoyed this post and having a nosey at a few new products that could take your fancy and hopefully I’ll be back soon with some more tutorials and reviews.

 

2 Replies to “TUTORIAL: GO TO MAKEUP LOOK APRIL 2017”

Leave a Reply

