TUTORIAL: MODERN RENAISSANCE

Hey everyone! It was about time I came back with a tutorial using the ABH Modern Renaissance palette. I’ve been playing about with the palette for a couple of weeks now experimenting with new colour combinations and finding which suit me best. One of the main reasons I wanted this palette was for the rich reds and pinks which I’ve never had the chance to play about with so if you like berry tones then you’ll love this tutorial.

I start my routine by filling in my brows using my trusty ABH Dipbrow Pomade in Dark Brown and carve them out with MAC Select Cover up concealer and then set my eyebrows into place using the Maybelline Transparent Brow Drama.

DSCN1584.jpgFor the eyeshadow I primed my eyes using the same MAC concealer and set using the MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light, I find this powder better as a base on my eyes than any eyeshadow as it gives a little bit of coverage and as it is so smooth it makes blending an absolute dream.

DSCN2655.jpg

For this look I only used 3 brushes and for the majority took two NYX No.17 crease brushes and using one for the lighter colours and the other for darker colours. The first shadow I used was Buon Fresco (dusty mauve) I blended this into the crease and up to the brow bone following through all the way into the inner corner. I then took Love letter (bright fuchsia) on the same brush and worked this onto the outer v and outer crease blending upwards and outwards to create a soft wing-this doesn’t have to be overly neat as it will be cleaned up later with foundation and concealer. I then mixed Red Ochre and Venetian Red and placed this into my outer v but blended in a smaller area to keep the colour dense and dimensional.

At this point I wanted to add a bit more depth but nothing warm toned so I grabbed a NYX single eyeshadow which is from the nude matte range called Skinny Dip which is a deep purple and mixed this with a little bit of black eyeshadow and I again popped this in my outer v but in a much smaller area and only blended the edges to keep the colour intensity.

DSCN2671.jpg

For my lower lash line I connected my smoked out wing by firstly taking Buon Fresco from outer to inner corner and blended this quite low. I then took Love letter a bit closer to my lash line and then Venetian Red, Skinny Dip and the black shadow all mixed and built this up on the outer corner and faded inwards and concentrated some black shadow at the very roots of my lower lashes.

I lined my eyes using the Nyx Tres Jolie eye pencil in black and then moved onto glitter. I used a synthetic flat shader brush from NYX and coated the rest of my mobile lid with the NYX Glitter Primer and then took the NYX Face and Body Glitter in Crystal and patted this onto the lid slowly building up to get the desired effect.Β Lastly on the eyes I curled my lashes and used the Waterproof Maybelline Lash Sensational on my top lashes and the Maybelline Big Eyes mascara on the bottom lashes.

For the rest of the face I took two primers, firstly the MAKE UP FOR EVER Hydrating Step 1 primer which I am currently testing and so far I am really liking it for my dry skin but I can’t use this anywhere near the skin under my eyes as it starts to burn, but I take this over the majority of my face and then on the cheeks and laughter lines I take a little bit of the Benefit Porefessional.

For foundation I’ve been getting back into using the MAC Studio Sculpt since I can now create a good shade by mixing in the Body Shop Lightening drops. I’m still not fully in love with this foundation though I think the consistency is too thick for my liking but I need to use it up so I can move onto something else.

On to concealer, I took the Urban Decay Weightless concealer under my eyes, middle of the forehead, bridge of the nose, cupids bow and chin and on any rogue blemishes I covered them using the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer.

DSCN2660.jpg

For powder I’ve still been using the same MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light but instead of applying with a brush I’ve been using a damp beauty sponge and I find this uses less product and gives the powder chance to melt into the skin a bit more. I’ve also been getting back into using my NYX Contour Kit so I took the matte white (bone) and again used a damp sponge and pressed this under my eyes and the typical areas that I want to highlight. I then contoured further using a cool toned brown shade.

DSCN2661.jpg

Then I used my usual Bobbi Brown Golden Light on a Real Techniques blush brush to bronze. I tried out a new blush with this look as I didn’t want anything too pink something more peachy and neutral so I took the NYX Ombre Blush in Strictly Chic and applied the tiniest amount to the apples of my cheeks.

DSCN2642

Now for highlight, I struggled with what to use as I used silver glitter I want to use an icy highlight but because it’s me I had to add a bit of a twist. To begin with I dusted The Balm’s Mary-Lou Manizer as a base highlight as it is super flattering on me and then took the bright lavender from the Sleek Solstice palette which gives a very white based finish but the lavender really ties into the purple tones in the eyes.

DSCN2675.jpg

For lips I could have picked any cool toned nude, a bright pink, an uber dark purple but I opted for the nude. So I lined my lips with NYX Glide on lip pencil in Nude Suede Shoes and then went on top with NYX Lip lingerie in Lace Detail.

DSCN2664.jpg

I really want to love the Lip Lingerie’s as they are such gorgeous colours but such an odd and disappointing formula to work with, as they are so thick they don’t dry, and transfer so easily and they end up feeling so so dry on the lips. And to top it off they are an absolute pain to take off so much so that it hurts to drag it across my mouth. I really wish NYX brought out these colours in the Liquid Suede formula as that is so much more comfortable and long lasting!

DSCN2665.jpg

The only step left is to add setting spray so I used Urban Decay All Nighter and that is the look complete. I’ve worn this look quite a few times now and had loads of compliments on the glittery aspect so I would highly recommend picking up Crystal out of all of them as it can be paired with any other colours. I hope you enjoyed reading this post and it gave you some sort of inspiration!

DSCN2702.jpg

DSCN2705.jpg

DSCN2741.jpg

Leave a Reply

