MINI THE BODY SHOP HAUL

Hey everyone I’m back again with a little haul for you. In this post I’m going to include close ups and some mini reviews of the products.

Recently my cousin hosted a little evening where a Body Shop representative came round and gave a few demonstrations of new and original products. The whole evening was a lot of fun and I had a really good time learning more about some of their cult products.

I tried out a lot of skincare and makeup and asked specifically about a few makeup products. I was expecting the representative to have a wide range of colours/shades of the makeup items but she didn’t so I didn’t want to risk buying any makeup that wouldn’t suit me. At the end of the evening we were given an order form and we could order anything from the entire catalogue. In total I bought six items mainly for the body and skincare.

The first item I was dead set on ordering was the Dead Sea Salt Scrub. The pot contains 350ml of product and retails for £20. I got the chance to try this out at the evening and after working the scrub into the hands and wrists and wiping away with warm water it left my hands feeling incredibly soft and smooth. The scrub works as an exfoliator and removes all the dry flaky skin and can be used all over he body. The scrub is best worked into wet skin and I personally would avoid using it on the face (it doesn’t say you can’t) as it is quite rough and I have extremely sensitive skin. It does leave quite a wet residue but I like this feeling as it does slowly soak into the skin making my skin feel more hydrated.

DSCN2197

The next item I bought was the Hemp Hand Protector. This product is The Body Shop’s most popular item and has recently been brought out in limited edition packaging designed by EINE. The protector retails for £5 and for every one bought £1.50 is donated to a cause designed to enrich the planet, people, animals and oceans. The actual product however really moisturises the hands and is different to their other hand creams. I bought one of the pink grapefruit hand creams earlier on this year and it leaves my hands feeling so sticky and awful that I never finished using it. This protector however is slightly different and leaves my hands feeling moisturised but not at all sticky.

DSCN2199

The third item I bought was the Camomile Cleansing Butter. I’ve been wanting to buy this for ages but because of the amount of makeup I wear I didn’t feel like it would be worth the money but I caved and ordered it. I’m not used to using a balm makeup remover since I usually use cotton pads and micellar water. I’ve heard a lot of great things about balm makeup removers and especially this one and the demonstration proved that just one swipe took away all eye makeup. However I think I’m going to avoid taking off my eye makeup with this because I don’t want to scrub hard mascara and crusty eyeliner all over my face so I’ll stick to using this balm to begin with on my face makeup only and see how I get on. The pot contains 90ml of balm and retails for £13.

DSCN2203.jpg

The fourth thing I ordered was the Mango Body Sorbet. The mango scent is permanent to The Body Shop and so is the sorbet. Mango is my favourite scent as I love sweet things but with a hint of citrus! The sorbet is an interesting texture as it is quite runny but a lot thicker than a lotion. It leaves the skin feeling really hydrated and moisturised and I am loving this product to use in the shower as a sort of body wash. I’ve been told you can use it on dry skin but because it is quite runny it feels sticky and uncomfortable if not washed away so I definitely recommend using this as a body wash. The sorbet’s contain 200ml of product and retail for £8.

The fifth product I bought is something I have tried and loved. The Lightening Shade Adjusting Drops. These drops saved my makeup game when I was using my old MAC foundation as it was the lightest shade they did it still managed to oxidise on me but these drops prevented that and the oxidisation wasn’t as noticeable. I bought the drops just after they got released but ever since I ran out no store near me has had them in stock and I don’t really like ordering things online as I don’t like using my card online but since this was a different service and I could pay in cash it would be stupid not to pick them up. The Revlon Colourstay foundation I’m using at the moment is a perfect colour match but my MAC Studio Sculpt is so so dark  saying it is the lightest shade so these drops should save my skin when I use this foundation. In the little bottle you get 15ml of lightening formula and they cost £10 a bottle.

The final product I bought is a very new product to the Body Shop and wasn’t being shown at the event but I have seen this being used in videos that I knew I needed to try it. I bought the Instaglow CC cream in the shade Bright Glow. I’m really intrigued as to how I’ll get on with this as I’m most likely going to use this as a base for makeup. I have seen the darker shades being used on their own and they have some serious pigment so I’m wondering how this lighter shade will turn on me whether it will be too pink or not. But I will get back to you all on my thoughts and I’m sure I’ll be taking this on holiday with me as an SPF for under my makeup anyway, as it does include SPF20. The tube contains 25ml of CC cream and retails for £14.

So that’s all for my mini Body Shop Haul I hope you all enjoyed reading about the products I am testing out and do let me know if you have tried any of these or any products you would recommend to me!

Leave a Reply

